Cider has been consumed since ancient times and is the pride of the Bretons and Normans, as well as being prized around the world. This fermented apple juice is a vector of history and region and, above all, the wealth of flavor. But how is cider made? Find out all about cider in this article.

What is the difference between beer and cider ?

Beer and cider are equally appreciated around the world, but even the most ardent beer drinkers often confuse the two. To learn more, visit low abv cider. Unlike beer, which is made from gluten-containing grains, hops and yeast, cider is inherently gluten-free because the apple juice is fermented like white wine. Apple cider may be a safer option than beer for those who are allergic to gluten. A glass of cider and a glass of beer are two completely different drinks. 

The apple juice from which cider is made has a distinct flavor on its own, not covered by hops. Some people prefer the freshness of cider to beer, as the taste of beer comes more from the production process than from the grains used. The alcohol concentration in beer and cider is about the same. Cider may or may not contain alcohol, but beer always does. Ciders often contain more carbohydrates than beer due to the higher sugar content. Beer and cider have the same number of calories per pack.

How is cider made ?

Apple juice is the main ingredient in the production of cider. It is extracted from freshly picked apples during the harvest season. Once the cider maker is satisfied with the quality of the batch, the cider is ready to drink after the fresh juice is slowly fermented and matured to give each cider complexity and character. Even after serving, the cider still contains some carbon dioxide from the fermentation process. Sparkling ciders tend to have higher levels to achieve this pleasant carbonation. 

Bottled cider, the most carbonated, is produced in the same way as sparkling wine. Cider production, on the other hand, requires careful thought. The fermentation process uses sugars specifically to apples, rather than the malt used in beer production. Before beer can ferment, the starches from cereals such as barley must be converted. The sugars in apples develop in the warm light of the orchard as the fruit ripens.